Report an absence: 01904 686400

SEND Provision

An inclusive learning community

At Millthorpe we promote and support an inclusive learning community, where differences are embraced. Individual students have their needs met and are encouraged as confident and independent learners who are able to thrive in school life and beyond. Our students, on the SEND register, will have SEND Support or some students with complex needs will have an EHCP.

We work to minimise barriers to learning which may be caused by learning / behavioural / emotional difficulties, ensuring all students make progress and achieve at least in line with their expectations. We aim for all students to leave school with functional literacy and numeracy skills in addition to the necessary social and independent skills to make an effective transition to their next place of learning.

SEND Provision

A child or young person has special educational needs (SEN) if they have a learning difficulty or disability that requires special educational provision to be made for them. Most of SEND needs are met through quality first teaching however, as part of our graduated approach of (assess, plan, do and review) students may have access to different parts of the provision outlined to the right. Each student on the SEN register will have a passport accessible to all staff (through classcharts) to communicate their strengths, areas of needs and strategies to support them. We use these strategies to remove any barriers to learning.

This is an example of a passport:

Working with families

Parents have the opportunity to discuss with the school their pupil’s SEND provision three times over the year (once at parents evening with teachers). Each student will have a SEN Lead based on their primary area of need, see the team below.

We continue to work closely with the local authority, signpost support through York Local offer and liaise with external agencies to provide support.

How to contact the SEND team

All initial emails/enquiries should be sent by email to send@millthorpe.southbank.academy

Our SEND policy can be found on Our Policies page and you can read our SEND Report here. 

The following documents may also be useful:

Meet the SEND team

Victoria Armitage
Deputy Headteacher
E: v.armitage@millthorpe.southbank.academy

Merry Norman
Assistant Head for Inclusion and SENDCo
E: m.norman@millthorpe.southbank.academy

Sue Wight
Director of SEND, SBMAT
E: s.wight@southbanktrust.co.uk

Debs Bradsell
SEND Lead: Cognition and Learning Difficulties
E: d.bradsell@millthorpe.southbank.academy

Sophie Reading
SEND Lead: Social, Emotional and/or Mental Health Needs
E: s.reading@millthorpe.southbank.academy

Vanessa Powell
SEND Lead: Communication and Interaction Needs
E: v.powell@millthorpe.southbank.academy

Dollita Smith
SEND Lead: Sensory and/or Physical Needs
E: d.smith@millthorpe.southbank.academy

Verity Hill
SEND Administrator
E: v.hill@millthorpe.southbank.academy

Skip to content